Residents Bid Farewell

Oct. 6, 2017

teacher of the year
Teacher of the Year
faculty of the year
Faculty of the Year Award
mullen award

Patrick Mullen Memorial Award

rsna resident
RSNA Resident of the Year Award

On a summery June evening, the Department of Radiology and Imaging Science celebrated its fourth year residents (R4) as they completed the Diagnostic Radiology Residency Program and prepared for the next phase in their careers.

Honored for their year of service were Chief RI Residents of AY 2016-2017, Dr. Katie Mason, Dr. Drew Streicher and Dr. Gelareh Sadigh.

Each year, the residents select by vote a Teacher of the Year. This year’s honorees devoted countless hours at all hours to coaching and supporting the residents.

Teachers of the Year:

Patricia Hudgins, MD, FACR, director of Head and Neck Radiology and professor of radiology

Aarti Sekhar, MD, associate professor of radiology (abdominal imaging)

The RSNA Research and Education Foundation Roentgen Resident/Fellow Research Award recognizes and encourages outstanding residents and fellows for their involvement in imaging sciences research.

RSNA Resident/Fellow Research Award: Dr. Gelareh Sadigh

The Patrick Mullen Award is bestowed by secret ballot by the third and fourth year residents. The award honors former resident, Dr. Patrick Mullen, who overcame multiple obstacles after a life-changing accident to return to medicine and become a radiologist.

16th Annual Patrick Mullen Memorial Award: Dr. Marc Benayoun

The Adopt-A-Resident Program provides residents with funding and mentorship to undertake an original project aimed at improving radiology residency training and/or patient care while also advancing their own training and supports their career goals.

Adopt-a-Resident Awardee: Dr. Drew Streicher